Meet Cherie Currie – The Runaways, Foxes, Award Winning Chainsaw Sculptor

Cherie Currie – The RUNAWAYS, plus solo albums, also Star of “FOXES” and many other films, plus Award Winning Chainsaw Sculptor at the The Music Collectibles Extravaganza April 8-10, 2022

Cherie Currie (born November 30, 1959) is an American musician, actress and artist. She was the lead vocalist of the Runaways, a rock band from Los Angeles, in the mid-to-late 1970s. After the Runaways, she became a solo artist. Then she teamed up with her identical twin sister, Marie, and released an album with her. Their duet “Since You’ve Been Gone” reached number 95 on US charts. Their band was called Cherie and Marie Currie. She is also well known for her role in the movie Foxes.

Cherie Currie

Currie was the teenage lead vocalist for the all-female rock band the Runaways with bandmates Joan Jett, Lita Ford, Sandy West, Jackie Fox and Vicki Blue. Bomp! magazine described her as “the lost daughter of Iggy Pop and Brigitte Bardot”.

Cherie Currie joined the Runaways in 1975, at age 15. The teen rock anthem “Cherry Bomb” was written for her at the audition. Assessments of her impact differ; one reviewer has written in 2010 that “the received wisdom that [the Runaways] carved out new territory for female musicians is hard to justify—it’s doubtful that the predominantly male audience who flocked to see the 16-year-old [Currie] in her undies picked up any feminist subtext.”

Shameless’s 2013 album, Beautiful Disaster. Currie released singles with ex-bandmate, Lita Ford and Glenn Danzig the same year. On October 19, 2013, Currie won the Rock Legend Award at the sixth annual Malibu Music Awards. The reward was presented to her by ex-bandmate, Lita Ford. That night Currie and Ford played on stage together for the first time in 37 years. Currie released another studio album, Reverie, in 2015.[22] The album features guest work from ex-bandmate, Lita Ford, Currie’s son, Jake Hays, and Currie’s ex-manager, Kim Fowley.

She toured the UK in November 2015, to support her new album. Her special guest on her UK tour was Last Great Dreamers. While in the UK, Currie recorded a live album entitled “Midnight Music in London” which features a special live appearance by Suzi Quatro. It was released in 2016. In late May and early June 2016 she toured Australia and New Zealand. In 2018, Cherie and her son were nominated for the Marshall Hawkins Award for Best Original Score for the film Take My Hand.

In 2020 released an audio version of her memoir, Neon Angel. Her audio version of her book reached number 1 on Amazon’s Best Biographies of Punk Rock Musician. In the same year, she contributed her vocals to the song “Flatten the Curve” for the band FTC.

Cherie Currie is now a wood-carving artist, using a chainsaw to create her works. She has been doing chainsaw art since 2002 and opened her own gallery in 2005 in Chatsworth, California. As a chainsaw artist, Currie has competed in and won awards at three world Chainsaw Art competitions.

Credits Include:

  • 1977 “Call Me at Midnight” – Beauty’s Only Skin Deep
  • 1978 “Beauty’s Only Skin Deep” – Beauty’s Only Skin Deep
  • 1978 “Love at First Sight” – Beauty’s Only Skin Deep
  • 1978 “Science Fiction Daze” – Beauty’s Only Skin Deep
  • 1979 “Since You Been Gone” 95 Messin’ with the Boys
  • 1979 “Messin’ with the Boys” – Messin’ with the Boys
  • 1980 “This Time” – Messin’ with the Boys
  • 1980 “Overnight Sensation (Hit Record)” – Messin’ with the Boys
  • 1989 “Instant Karma!” – Mono! Stereo: Sgt. Shonen’s Exploding Plastic Eastman Band Request Tater Totz
  • 1998 “Cherry Bomb” – Maximum Overdrive The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs meets Cherie Currie
  • 2013 “Life’s a Gas” – Beautiful Disaster Shameless
  • 2013 “Some Velvet Morning” – Single only (with Glenn Danzig)
  • 2013 “Rock This Christmas Down” – Single only (with Lita Ford)
  • 2015 “Believe” – Reverie
  • 2018 “When We Need Her” – Fanny Walked the Earth
  • 2019 “The Motivator” – The Motivator (with Brie Darling)
  • 2019 “Get Together” – The Motivator (with Brie Darling)
  • 2020 “Black Hole Sun” – Single only (with Brie Darling)
  • 2020 “What the World Needs Now Is Love” – Single only (with Dave Schulz)
Cherie Currie – The RUNAWAYS, plus solo albums, also Star of “FOXES” and many other films, plus Award Winning Chainsaw Sculptor at the The Music Collectibles Extravaganza April 8-10, 2022